top of page

Junior Members Receive Scholarships from Wisconsin Holstein Association

The Wisconsin Holstein Association is honored to award scholarships to 16 deserving youth members. These scholarships are awarded to members that are or will be attending two- or four-year universities and pursuing a degree in an agriculture related field. The members will be receiving the award at the 2021 Wisconsin Holstein Association Junior Convention.

Elise Bleck of Glenbeulah will be receiving the $1,500 Wisconsin Holstein Association Presidents’ Scholarship. This is the first year awarding this scholarship which honors past leaders of the Wisconsin Holstein Association and will be given to the top applicant each year. Bleck is a senior at Plymouth High School with plans to obtain her dairy science degree. She then plans to attend medical school to become a pediatrician to help practice medicine in rural communities and educate others on farm safety as well as coach youth dairy teams.

Eliza Endres of Waunakee is the recipient of the $1,000 John Selz Memorial Scholarship. The John Selz Memorial Scholarship fund was established in honor of John Selz of Humbird, Wisconsin. He managed his family’s farm, Selz Farm, which was in his family for over 125 years. John was actively involved in the Wisconsin and National Holstein Associations in various capacities for numerous years. Through his life, John served as a strong advocate for progressive dairying and the Holstein industry. Endres is the 17-year-old daughter of Randy and Karen Endres. She is a senior at Waunakee Community High School with plans to pursue an agriculture business management degree.

Marie Haase of Somerset is the recipient of the $1,000 Doris Morris Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship is in honor of Doris, who was a long-time Wisconsin Holstein member. Doris and her husband Arden, and Arden’s brother, Maldwyn, and his wife, Inez, owned and operated Arwyn Farms in Waukesha County for over 40 years. Haase is a sophomore at the University of Wisconsin - River Falls, where she is majoring in dairy science. She looks forward to continuing her education and becoming a herdsperson for her family’s farm.

Hannah Hockerman of Westfield is the recipient of the $1,000 Marlowe Nelson Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship is given in memory of Marlowe whose passion was to teach and mentor young enthusiastic breeders to become more involved in the Registered Holstein business. Through his lifetime, Marlowe paved the way in many aspects of the Registered Holstein breed and its impact on the United States, Japan, Germany and Holland. Hockerman is the daughter of Dawn and Greg Hockerman. She is a senior at Westfield Area High School and will be attending Rock Valley College to pursue an animal science and agriculture education degree this fall.

Receiving the $1,000 John Klossner Memorial Scholarship is Matthew Gunst of Hartford. The John Klossner Memorial Scholarship was established for John - a young man who touched many lives during his short Junior Holstein career. The scholarship is given in memory of John who tragically passed away in an accident while exhibiting at one of his favorite events - the Wisconsin Junior State Fair. John was active in the Green County Junior Holstein Association and served on the Wisconsin Junior Holstein Junior Activities Committee. He attended the University of Wisconsin-Madison and was an active member of the Badger Dairy Club and AGR at UW. He was also an accomplished cattle showman and had won many awards. This scholarship was established by John’s parents, Richard and Roxanne Klossner, to a student who is considered a role model to other junior members. The son of Dennis and Nichole Gunst, Matthew is a senior at the Lakeside Lutheran High School. He plans to pursue a career as an agricultural lawyer and help dairy farmers everywhere.

Montana Sarbacker of Belleville will be receiving the $1,000 Gordon Berg Memorial Scholarship. Gordon was a long-time Wisconsin Holstein member and breeder from Brownsville, Wisconsin. Gordon’s sister, Vivian Minor, started the Gordon Berg Scholarship. She made up the “VI” in the famed VIGO herd prefix with her brother, Gordon, making up the “GO.” We hope this award has special meaning to you since Gordon was a well-respected breeder who bred outstanding registered Holsteins in the Dodge County area his entire life. Gordon was a great cowman. Sarbacker is the daughter of John and Michelle Sarbacker and is a freshman at Madison Area Technical College. After completing her time there, she plans to transfer to the University of Wisconsin – Platteville to study agriculture business and dairy science.

Tyler Schroepfer of Birnamwood is the recipient of the $1,000 Bradley Fust Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship is given in memory of Brad, who was an enthusiastic member of the Junior Holstein Association from Wausau. The scholarship was established by Brad’s parents, Brian and Wendy Fust, with the sale of one of Brad’s heifers. Schroepfer is the son of David and Jolynne Schroepfer. He is a senior at the Antigo High School with plans to attend the University of Wisconsin – Madison in the fall to purse a degree in food science.

Nicole Broege of Janesville is the recipient of the $1,000 Maurice and Geraldine Cooper Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship is given in memory of Maurice and Geraldine Cooper, lifelong Holstein breeders from Moss Oak Farm. Maurice was a director of the Wisconsin Holstein Association; a director, president, and secretary of the Dane County Holstein Association; a delegate to the National Holstein Convention multiple times; and served on many industry Boards including DHI and World Dairy Expo. Love of family, Holsteins, service to the community and support of youth activities were paramount in their lives. Broege is senior at the Janesville JA Craig High School. She plans to attend the University of Wisconsin – Madison in the fall and become a dairy cattle nutritionist as well as a mentor for youth of the dairy industry.

Eight other outstanding youth will be receiving scholarships from Wisconsin Holstein Association. Recipients include Kaylee Mess of Rosendale; Molly Olstad of Stoughton; Mae Buttles of Wilson; Zach Olson of Sturgeon Bay; Ashlyn Sarbacker of Edgerton; Barbara Dittrich of Alma; Morgyn Haumschild of Milladore; and Erin Strauss of Lake Mills.

Wisconsin Holstein Association is proud of these deserving youth. All Wisconsin Holstein Association members that are attending a two or four-year university are encouraged to apply for scholarships, as you can be awarded up to $1,000.

About the Organizations

Wisconsin Holstein Association is a not-for-profit membership organization with the purpose of promoting the Wisconsin Registered Holstein breed, its breeders and owners. Established in 1890, it has grown its junior and adult membership to become the second largest state Holstein association in the nation. For more information visit the WHA website at

Search by Category
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page